About us

Science at Melbourne is one of the most highly regarded science faculties in Australia, and throughout its 110 year history has been recognised internationally for its role in expanding the frontiers of knowledge for the betterment of society.

The Faculty of Science is a thriving, passionate and internationally networked community.

We have a history of leadership in research, innovation, teaching and learning and play an important role in Australia's participation in the global knowledge economy.

  • Comprising seven schools, the Faculty offers a range of undergraduate, honours, graduate and research degrees; enrolling over 10,000 undergraduate and graduate students.
  • We provide community services and industry partnerships based on a solid foundation of research in the pure and applied sciences.
  • We have active involvement in a number of competitively funded research centres, and our scientists include 25 Fellows of learned academies and seven ARC Federation and Laureate Fellows.
  • We partake in collaborative research ventures, staff and student exchanges, and overseas student recruitment – all of which ensures Melbourne Science maintains an international perspective.

The Faculty of Science leadership team

  • Dean, Associate Deans and Directors
    • Dean - Professor Karen Day
    • Deputy Dean - Professor Aleks Owczarek
    • Associate Dean, Research and Industry - Professor Laura Parry
    • Associate Dean, Graduate Programs - Associate Professor Andy Martin
    • Associate Dean, Undergraduate Programs - Associate Professor Deborah King
    • Associate Dean, International - Professor Muthupandian Ashokkumar
    • Associate Dean, Academic Innovation & Advancement - Professor Raoul Mulder
    • Faculty Executive Director - Imtiaz Bhayat
    • Director, Bachelor of Science - Associate Professor Michelle Livett
    • Director, Office for Environmental Programs - Associate Professor Kath Williams
    • Director, Bio21 Institute - Professor Michael Parker
  • Heads of School