The Impact of your Gift

"Seeing is Believing" - Thank you

Educating tomorrow's leaders

Listed here are just a few examples of scholarships and their latest recipients, illustrating the significant difference that philanthropy can make to a student's education.

2015 Muriel Ramm Science Bursary: Established in 1998 by the late Professor Emeritus Colin Ramm and his family, in memory of his late wife, Muriel. It provides a bursary for a student enrolling in the Faculty of Science in a BSc (Hons), Advanced Graduate Diploma of Science or the first year of a Master of Science.

Asher Trama (joint awardee), Master of Science (Zoology) – "I am focusing on the invasion of a marine invertebrate and the effects its invasion has on the ecosystem in Port Phillip Bay. A major highlight of my course so far has been undertaking my own research. Working with my supervisor to shape my own ideas has been invaluable. I cannot begin to describe how instrumental this award will be for my success during Masters. It will allow me to afford to continue studying, and help with other costs. In the future I would like to work in conservation and study the effects that anthropogenic climate change has on ecosystems."

Wessam Badr (joint awardee), Master of Science (Physics) – "I am focusing on high energy experimental particle physics. The trust award allows me to set aside my daily stressors such as paying the rent, utilities and food, and to really focus on my studies. It is a privilege to receive the award and be recognised as a valued member of the Graduate School of Science."

P W Crohn Scholarship: Established in memory of Peter Wolfgang Crohn, a graduate of UoM noted for his research in Antarctic geology and glaciology. It rewards academic excellence in third year Earth Sciences. The recipient must be progressing to Honours or Masters in the School of Earth Sciences.

Chloe Marie – "I chose to study at Melbourne because I wanted to do a course where I had the flexibility to explore different areas of Science. I thought the BSc was perfect as I could take several subjects and then narrow my references down throughout my degree. The things I love about Science are the problem solving and endless possibilities. It makes me really excited about my work. At present I am completing an honours in Earth Sciences (Geology) focusing on sedimentary geology. I was surprised and honoured to receive this award, which has made me feel more confident of my academic abilities."

Megan Klemm Postgraduate Research Award: Established in 2002 in commemoration of the late Megan Klemm's contributions as an electron microscopist in the former School of Botany and her courage in working with students and staff of the school until shortly before her death. It recognises excellent academic achievement in a PhD student in the discipline of botany, in the School of BioSciences.

Claire Sayers – "I am focused on the genetics of the malaria parasite to help understand the biology and to ultimately find novel drug targets. The dynamic nature of my research keeps me engaged and motivated. The challenges I have faced during my PhD have made me realise what I am capable of overcoming and achieving. I enjoy the independence of my studies, but also know that someone is always there to help when I need it. Receiving the Megan Klemm Postgraduate Research Award gives me the financial support I need to attend an overseas conference and visit labs in the US, Germany and the Netherlands. These experiences will be important steps in achieving my PhD goals and for my future career opportunities."

Dame Margaret Blackwood Soroptimist Scholarship: Established in 1988 by the Soroptimist International of the SouthWest Pacific and the University of Melbourne to commemorate Dame Margaret's contributions to the international Soroptimist community and her academic career. It provides a personal scholarship for a female student enrolled in a research higher degree in the discipline of genetics – plant, animal or viral – in the Faculty of Science.

Danielle Christesen (PhD, BioSciences) – "My scholarship is in memory of Dame Margaret Blackwood, who had a distinguished career in genetic research and was the first female deputy vice chancellor here at the University of Melbourne. She was also an honorary member of the Soroptimist International of the South West Pacific, so she was heavily involved in improving education and leadership opportunities for women and girls. Knowing this background makes the award all the more meaningful to me."

2015 Dawson Bursary: Established in 1949 through a bequest left to the University by William Henry Dawson of Bendigo. It provides a bursary for a student enrolled in a research higher degree in the biological sciences in the Faculty of Science, with preference given to children of returned soldiers.

Lynda Hanlon (School of Geography) – "The Dawson Bursary acknowledges the significance of funding for my research. Without receiving such an award my research objectives would be compromised, as my work is unique to the University of Melbourne and as such it does not fall into many of the categories listed under awards and scholarships. Of equal importance is that the Dawson Bursary acknowledges my late father's service to Australia in the RAAF during World War 2, and I feel proud and honoured to have received this bursary in his name."

Huntsman Australia Prize (Chemistry): Established in 2001 and sponsored annually by the Huntsman Corporation of Australia P/L. The annual prize recognises outstanding achievement in second year Chemistry, with the student progressing to major in third year Chemistry.

Peter McDonald – "I have always been inquisitive but watching Carl Sagan's Cosmos really inspired me to want to know more about the world and how things work. I had to complete my VCE again as I was a musician and had not studied science previously. I decided to come back to study after being a drummer in various bands. It is a great creative outlet and a way to reset my mind when study gets to be too much. I am very humbled to receive this award. I am hoping to do honours next year and go into a PhD."

Dwight Prize in Genetics and the John A McKenzie / Selby Scientific Foundation Award: The Dwight Prize was established through a bequest by Mr Henry Tolman Dwight. It recognises academic excellence in third year level students completing a major in Genetics in the BSc or BBiomed.

The John A McKenzie / Selby Scientific Foundation Award is sponsored annually by the Selby Scientific Foundation. It rewards a student enrolled in a MSc, BSc(Hons) or BBiomed(Hons) in the discipline of genetics, based on academic excellence in third year genetics.

Jessica Stott, Master of Science (Genetics) – "One of the highlights of my course is getting to be a part of real research and suddenly learning enough to be able to truly understand and keep up with the forefront of my field. It's great to know that my hard work means something, and that people care and support my ambitions. It's a wonderful opportunity and it really encourages me to keep going, even when it's hard work."

Give to Science