Eureka Awards success for the Faculty of Science

Associate Professor James McCaw, from the School of Mathamatics and Statistics, is part of a team that won a Eureka Prize for their science research.

Assoc. Prof. McCaw and the University of Melbourne team – Professor Leann Tilley, Dr Nick Klonis and Associate Professor Julie Simpson – won the 2016 Australian Infectious Diseases Research Centre Eureka Prize for Infectious Diseases Research, for their research on malaria.

Malaria, which kills about 500,000 children every year, has developed a resistance to the first-line antimalarial drug, artemisinin, which could cause a major global health crisis. The team made a number of key scientific discoveries leading to insights into how this resistance could be overcome.