Students win Royal Society of Victoria prizes

Three Faculty of Science students have been presented with prestigious awards from the Royal Society of Victoria.

Rebecca Leane, Dene Murphy and Rebecca Hull were among eight students who won prizes for their work.

Ms Leane won the Scientist Research Prize for the Physical Sciences, for her work title: Searching for dark matter in the sky and at the Large Hadron Collider, and under the supervision of Nicole Bell. Mr Murphy was the runner-up in that category.

Rebecca Hull, from the School of Biosciences, was runner-up in the Young Scientist Research Prize for the Biological (Non-Human) Sciences category.

More than 100 entries were entered for this year’s postgraduate prizes, and simply being a finalized was a “remarkable achievement”, RSV president Bill Birch said.