Scientists and friends of Science honoured with 2017 University of Melbourne Awards

This year’s University of Melbourne Awards have been announced, with bronze plaques installed on Professors Walk (Parkville campus) to recognise awardees.

The awards acknowledge staff who have made an outstanding and enduring contribution to the University and its scholarly community.

Out of the twelve awardees, five have connections to the Faculty of Science: Adrienne Clarke AC, John Coghlan AO, Marelyn Wintour-Coghlan AO, Mary Emison and Anthony G Klein AM.

Professor Adrienne Clarke AO is an eminent plant molecular biologist who was the first Melbourne Laureate Professor. Professor Emeritus John Coghlan AO is an endocrinologist who was a key figure within the Howard Florey Institute for 40 years, and Dr Marelyn Wintour-Coghlan AO is a physiologist who was only the 20th woman to be elected to the Australian Academy of Science.

For more than 30 years, Dr Mary Emison dedicated herself to the advancement of the University, including as Assistant to the Dean of Science, and Assistant Registrar in the Faculty of Science.

Professor Emeritus Anthony G Klein AM led the School of Physics from 1987 to 1996, and held many other distinguished positions both inside and outside the University, all while working at the frontier of experimental and quantum physics research in Australia.

Other recipients of the University of Melbourne Awards include Sir Arthur Amies, the only University of Melbourne Professor to serve overseas in a war zone in WWII operating as a maxillo facial surgeon, James Angus, who was the driving force behind the development of health precincts and Patricia Grimshaw, a pioneer in women’s history.